Book Review: “The Fault in Our Stars” by John Green

Image

I know I am a little late on the train here, but, guys, this book is incredible. I read it in about two days. It was one of those books that when I finished I seriously considered flipping to the first page and reading it all over. First of all, John Green’s writing is breathtaking. The novel, which tells the story of two young cancer patients who meet in a support group broke my heart in exactly the way I expected it to, but it was so much more than that. This book is completely life-affirming and tackles the questions that we all must at some time ask. Furthermore, it was one of the most compelling and honest love stories I have ever encountered. Green gracefully and thoughtfully describes what it feels like to fall in love for the first time. Though I am a big fan of YA fiction, I hesitate to put this book in that category. I would recommend this book to anyone who has ever lost, or worried about losing, someone they love.

Some Memorable Quotes:

“As he read, I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.” 

“My thoughts are stars I cannot fathom into constellations.”

“That’s the thing about pain…it demands to be felt.” 

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.” 

“I’m in love with you,” he said quietly.
“Augustus,” I said.
“I am,” he said. He was staring at me, and I could see the corners of his eyes crinkling. “I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.”  

This was the first book I have read by John Green and I am dying to get my hands on more of his work. If you don’t know anything about him I highly suggest you follow him on twitter (@realjohngreen) and check out his youtube channel (vlog brothers) on which he and his brother Hank communicate through their video blog. Also, this is an interesting article about how Green has used social media to build a community of readers and fans.

Leave a Reply

