Back at Smith!

I am back at school and ready to start classes tomorrow! Sadly, today was kind of crazy because it was my first day here and I completely forgot to do “What I Ate Wednesday”. I am going to bend the rules a little here and do “What I Ate Thursday” this week!  

One of my favorite Smith traditions is convocation. Convocation at Smith is not like convocation at other schools. We dress up in crazy costumes and scream our house chants at the top of our lungs. It is the perfect way to start off what I know is going to be a great year! 

The Dean of Religious Life at Smith spoke at convocation and she quoted author and Smithie Madeleine L’Engle: 

“It’s a good thing to have all the props pulled out from under us occasionally. It gives us some sense of what is rock under our feet, and what is sand.” 
― Madeleine L’Engle 

I hope that I can live by these words this semester. I can’t guarantee that all will go according to plan, but I can promise that I will do my best to learn and grow from every obstacle I face.  

P.S. Don’t forget to tune in to the DNC tonight at 10 pm to watch Elizabeth Warren address the convention and the country. 

 

We MUST elect this woman!

Leave a Reply

