Reading Anna Karenina

Remember how I was going to post about every 100 pages I read of “Anna Karenina”? Well, that did not really work out, but guess what? I finished! It might be silly, but I feel super accomplished about finishing this book. It is something that I have always wanted to read and I am so glad that I finally did.

To me, this book is everything a novel should be. It is full of interesting, engaging, relatable characters whose struggles and joys tell us something important about life and the human experience.

While I loved the drama of Anna Karenina’s tumultuous relationship with her lover Vronsky, I was most moved by the transformation of Levin and his struggle live a meaningful life. I love that Tolstoy ended the book with Kitty and Levin because to me they are the heart of the novel. The scene in the end in which Levin runs through the woods in the pouring rain in search of Kitty and his son was my favorite of the whole novel.

The genius of the book lies in Tolstoy’s knack for perfectly describing all the little quirks of human nature. The lives and choices of his characters are incredibly complex. I can’t say with certainty that any of the choices made by any of the characters was specifically right or wrong. There are times when it seems Anna made the right choice and others when I questioned the sacrifice she made. Instead of writing about simple matters of right and wrong, Tolstoy revealed the deep complex factors that effect every decision we make.

“Anna Karenina” was the perfect summer read and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves a good story the way I do!

I know there are a lot of strong opinions out there about this book and I can’t wait to hear them. Let me know!

Leave a Reply

