Oatmeal Banana Flax Muffins

Lately, I have been really trying to focus on eating a healthy, nutritious diet. For someone who loves food and baking so much, this has been more of a challenge than I thought. I realized that for a long time, I never really put a lot of thought in to eating healthy and just ate what was available to me. Luckily, my family is very healthy and we never have a lot of junk food or sweets around. Eating at college, however, was a whole different ball game. There is dessert at lunch and dinner and many unhealthy options are always readily available. One of my goals for the coming semester is to find a way to maintain a healthy diet in a dining hall setting. I want to prepare for this by really focusing on eating healthy foods for the rest of the summer.

That being said, I have zero interest in crash dieting or doing anything extreme that I know will not be sustainable. I want to create and live a healthy lifestyle that I can keep up for many years to come. Baking is something that I really enjoy and I am interested in finding recipes that are both delicious and healthier than more traditional options.

I have found many healthy living blogs that prove that baking and healthy eating do not need to be mutually exclusive! For example, I found the recipe for these delicious Oatmeal Banana Flax Muffins from one of my favorite fitness and food blogs, Peanut Butter Fingers.

Image

Image

Image

Honestly, I didn’t expect these to taste like regular muffins. I was excited to be making something healthy, but I was also prepared to sacrifice some flavor in the process. Boy, was I ever wrong! These muffins have all whole wheat flour, brown sugar, no butter, and flax seeds. It was a healthy, delicious way to start the day!

1 Comment

  1. I’ve been wondering what to do with my flax seeds! Thanks for sharing!
    -Tina from http://ohsnapletseat.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

