My First 5K!!!

Today my Mom and I ran a 5K and it was so much fun. I was very nervous and excited because I only just recently got into running and I am not very confident. It is great to run with my Mom and we helped to boost each other’s confidence. Together we conquered something we were totally unprepared for… HILLS. Somehow in all our training we never stopped to consider that the course might involve some hills. Despite this unpleasant surprise we ran much faster than we usually do. It was a great feeling.

Image

Before the race!

Image

Who are those crazies?

The best part of the race, which was called “the Shortcake Shuffle”, was that every participant got to enjoy some delicious strawberry shortcake at the finish!

Image

It was totally worth it!

I love that I feel accomplished and like I have taken an important step toward my goal of becoming healthier and more active!

4 Comments

  1. Congrats on your first 5K….

  2. Thank you!

  3. Congrats on your first 5k! I wasn’t prepared for the hills in my first 5k either lol also, I have the same blue shoes! 😀

  4. Congrats! I’ve been running for about 4 years now, and it is such a great feeling of accomplishment when you do your first race! Now try a 10k next time, and without hills! I am lucky that Barcelona’s races are usually in the part of town that doesn’t have the hills….if not I would crumble!

Leave a Reply

