Five Things I Love This Week

This week I love:

1. Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life by Anne Lamott

This book is funny, wise, inspiring, and profound. Lamott’s advice is invaluable to anyone who feels the desire to write whether for publication or not. In many ways, this book is a celebration of the written word and its importance in our lives. After reading this book, I have decided to make a real effort to sit down and write something every day. I think this quote from the book sums up why:

“Writing and reading decrease our sense of isolation. They deepen and widen and expand our sense of life: they feed the soul. When writers make us shake our heads with the exactness of their prose and their truths, and even make us laugh about ourselves or life, our buoyancy is restored, We are given a shot at dancing with, or at least clapping along with, the absurdity of life, instead of being squashed by it over and over again. It’s like singing on a boat during a terrible storm at sea. You can’t stop the raging storm, but singing can change the hearts and spirits of the people who are together on that ship.” 

2. Downton Abbey

This show is a soap opera, but it is on PBS and all the characters have english accents, so you don’t have to feel guilty about watching it! I can’t get enough of it. I love the costumes, the beautiful set, the drama, and of course the zinging one-liners from the one and only Maggie Smith:

“Put that in your pipe and smoke it!”    

3. US Women’s Basketball 

The Olympics are fast approaching and I can’t wait to see all my favorite women’s basketball players representing the US in London!

Check out this video of the team practicing and preparing for London. Go USA!

4. The ‘Busy’ Trap by Tim Kreider

This is a very interesting article in the New York Times about why we are all so busy all the time and whether it needs to be this way.

5. Earl Grey Tea

I don’t just love Earl Grey Tea this week, but I had to put in on this list because I am enjoying a cup right now and it is just so good. I am definitely a tea person and Earl Grey is my favorite. A warm cup of Earl Grey with milk and honey is the first step to solving all your problems. I promise.

Leave a Reply

